michael j. morris


Shows I ache to see
9 October, 2009, 8:53 am
Filed under: art | Tags: , , , , ,

I just read a review of William Forsythe’s “Decreation,” a piece choreographed in 2003 with connections to Anne Caron’s book by the same name. Anne Carson is my favorite author, unquestionable. Autobiography of Red, Eros: The Bittersweet, Plainwater, Glass, Irony, and God, etc. I love these books. This is not the first time that I have discovered connections between Forsythe and Carson. But I ache to witness this connection:

“The Forsythe Company performs through Saturday at the BAM Howard Gilman Opera House, 30 Lafayette Avenue, at Ashland Place, Fort Greene, Brooklyn; (718) 636-4100, bam.org.”

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/09/arts/dance/09forsythe.html?_r=1&ref=dance

I found a short video clip of the piece:

Later this month, Meredith Monk  will also be performing at BAM. October 21-25, she will be presenting Ascension Variations, another piece created in collaboration with Ann Hamilton. I don’t think there is any way that I will be able to see that show, but it feels destined that one day I will be able to see Monk’s work. She, along with Hamilton, is one of the most important artists to my work and I have yet to see her work live.

Again, I found a little video:

One day . . .

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

mjm
i read about the forsythe/carson piece in the new yorker and of course, immediately thought of you and whether or not it had come across your desk yet.

have you read Decreation? shall we read it together over TG or Christmas break?

Comment by cocoloupedance

what meredith monk musics should i start with?

Comment by cocoloupedance

Yes, I have read Decreation. It’s lovely. I actually went back and read the section on which Bill’s piece is based this weekend. Good read. I want to spend more time with it at some point.

As for Meredith, I am constantly moved by both “mercy” and “impermanence.” I think they are my favorites, although “Volcano Songs” have a special place in my heart, and “Turtle Dreams” is just fun. So I recommend “mercy” or “impermanence” to start with.

See you soon. Thanks for writing!
-M

Comment by morrismichaelj




Leave a Reply

