michael j. morris


Inspiration and Connections

It’s been a “heady” week working in the Labanotation Teacher Certification Course. I feel tired, a little tired of trying to figure out “integrated living/art making,” rather than just doing something like that. My friend CoCo did a series of posts last year about inspiration. I do them sometimes. I need one today:

An ongoing inspiration is the Love Art Lab. It’s huge with me right now. It’s full of love and politics and color and chakra energy and integrated life/art. Annie and Beth just had another wedding, #5 the Blue Wedding, in Oxford, England. I can’t wait to see pictures/video. I did a whole post about the Love Art Lab a little bit ago, so I’ll just give you an image or two to share my inspiration:

05_40180035

I’m also having a great conversation of memory and experience between the brilliant color and energy of Annie and Beth’s Love Art Lab, and the company I danced for when I lived in Baton Rouge, Of Moving Colors Productions. I think I’ll created a “visual conversation” between the two . . .

RED

 

OMC "Red"

OMC "Red"

OMC "Sienna: Transformed by Fire"

OMC "Sienna: Transformed by Fire"

OMC "Sienna: Transformed by Fire"

OMC "Sienna: Transformed by Fire"

Love Art Lab "Red Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Red Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Red Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Red Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Cuddle"

Love Art Lab "Cuddle"

ORANGE

OMC "Paradise Orange"

OMC "Paradise Orange"

OMC "Paradise Orange"

OMC "Paradise Orange"

Susie Chaney in OMC's "Paradise Orange"

Susie Chaney in OMC's "Paradise Orange"

OMC "Paradise Orange"

OMC "Paradise Orange"

Love Art Lab "Orange Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Orange Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Orange Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Orange Wedding"

YELLOW

OMC "Yellow Orchid Blue"

OMC "Yellow Orchid Blue"

Love Art Lab "Yellow Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Yellow Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Yellow Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Yellow Wedding"

GREEN

OMC "Green"

OMC "Green"

00018 

Love Art Lab "Green Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Green Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Green Wedding"

Love Art Lab "Green Wedding"

BLUE:

OMC "Peacock Blue"

OMC "Peacock Blue"

OMC "Peacock Blue"

OMC "Peacock Blue"

OMC "Peacock Blue"

OMC "Peacock Blue"

OMC "Peacock Blue"

OMC "Peacock Blue"

Love Art Lab "Zen for the Head"

Love Art Lab "Zen for the Head"

Love Art Lab costume designs

Love Art Lab costume designs

Love Art Lab costume designs

Love Art Lab costume designs

 

 Whew! That’s a lot of pictures! Such a glide through memories and inspirations . . . 

NOTE: It should go without saying, but all photos of OMC are the property of Of Moving Colors Productions, and all photos of Love Art Lab are the property of Love Art Lab. I offer both here to honor and share these inspirations in my life.

If you still need more inspiration, check out this site that documents Linda Montano’s 14 Years of Living Art. I am so inspired by this work!

And I finally finished reading the first installment of a series of articles concerned with art in public spaces written by my brother Matt Morris for Aeqai. It is excellent and definitely offers points of interest as an art, a mover, and a public figure. You can read it here.
And here is an exceptionally thought-provoking quote by Rickey:
“I think it’s very important to make art that you have to wait for. I’m very concerned that movement be slow enough so you have to wait and you have to wonder what happens next.” I think that relates to my aesthetics in all kinds of ways . . .

George Rickeys Two Rectangles Vertical Gyratory II, Variation IV

George Rickey's Two Rectangles Vertical Gyratory II, Variation IV

 

Other inspirations tonight:

gentle rain outside
incense
fresh raw produce
indian fabrics all over my house
my friend Mara and her thoughtfulness
 Antony and The Johnsons “The Crying Light” (dedicated to Kazuo Ohno)

Looking forward to Columbus PRIDE 2009 this week/this weekend. Hope to see you there.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

