michael j. morris


More inspiration
18 January, 2009, 12:30 pm
Filed under: inspiration | Tags: , , ,

My friend CoCo wrote the most beautiful post exploring the possibility of “dance as gift” or “dance from one to one.” It was so inspiring and so related to some of the ideas I have been having in my art seminar class. Not to mention the ongoing question of “Who is your art for?” You can read it here.

Two books are rocking my world right now: 

Dancing Desires: Choreographing Sexualities On and Off the Stage (edited by Jane Desmond. It is a collection of essays addressing the relationship between sexuality studies and dance history, their intimate relationship to one another, and their historical exclusion of one another. It seeks to reexamine both not only in the context of one another, but making each central to the other. Thus far it has done an amazing a provocative job of it. it is also feeding really naturally into thoughts I am having for a new piece in the spring (working title “Negotiation of Gender and Gaze”). 

The second book I just bought yesterday. It is entitled:
 The Meaning of the Body: Aesthetics of Human Understanding (by Mark Johnson). I just started it yesterday, but it is an exciting examination of the centrality of corporeal existence to our construction/understanding of meaning. It speaks of the mind and body in a non-dualism, but as a unified whole, emphasizing the embodied nature of experience, thought, feeling, belief, spirituality, aesthetics, etc. I read the first chapter in Barnes & Noble, and because I have no self control when it comes to books, I bought it on the spot.

I also saw Milk again yesterday, and let me reiterate: if you haven’t yet seen it, you should. Even a second time, I was deeply moved. I was asked whether it was essential to see it on the big screen, and I wasn’t sure. Now I will say this: the experience will be entirely different from big to small screen. I recommend big.

I am off to brunch, then rehearsal, then some quality friend-time.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

